When you are involved in a car accident, it can be a stressful situation. In addition to any personal injuries you or your passengers may sustain, you will also have to contest with any vehicle damage and the stress of dealing with the other driver’s car insurance company. And if you don’t have insurance when you get into a car accident in Cleveland, Ohio, you have more to worry about than you think.
Is It Required to Have Car Insurance for A Cleveland Car Accident?
Under Ohio state law, it is a requirement that every driver carry car insurance or at least liability coverage. You will be required to show proof of insurance after a crash, which could cause you to lose your driving privileges in the state if you don’t have it.
You will also be required to show proof of your insurance coverage at the time of registering your vehicle with the Motor Vehicle Department as well as when you renew your license plates each year.
The minimum requirements for insurance coverage as required by Ohio law are:
- $25,000 bodily injury coverage per person
- $50,000 bodily injury coverage per accident
- $25,000 property coverage per accident
Having at least liability car insurance will help you cover the costs associated with a Cleveland car accident that is your fault and limit the amount of personal liability that you must assume.
Will I Have to Show Proof of Insurance After a Cleveland Car Accident?
It is necessary to have proof of your car insurance on your person at all times. If you are pulled over or involved in a crash, you will need to show it to a law enforcement officer. If you don’t have proof at that time, you could be given a citation for failure to have the proper insurance identification on you.
The proper proof of coverage can include:
- Your insurance identification card
- Your car insurance policy documents
- A certificate of self-insurance
One of these forms needs to be kept in your vehicle at all times to ensure you are in compliance with Ohio law.
Will I Be Reported for Not Having Insurance If I Have Been in a Cleveland Car Accident?
You will be reported to the Department of Revenue if you can’t show proof or don’t have vehicle insurance. It is also your responsibility to report a motorist that you have been involved in a Cleveland car accident with that doesn’t have insurance or the proper liability coverage.
Will I Lose My Driver’s License If I Have Been in a Cleveland Car Accident Without Insurance Coverage?
You can lose your driver’s license if you are cited for not having car insurance whether you are involved in a Cleveland car accident or not. If a conviction occurs from your failure to have a license, the court may send your citation to the Driver License Bureau where you will be assessed four points on your driving record. Losing points on your record over 18 months can cause you to lose your license.
The court also has the option to order supervision. This entails monitoring to ensure you obtain the required insurance as deemed necessary by the state. In some instances, the court may order that your driver’s license is suspended, causing you to lose your driving privileges up to a year, depending on if this is your first offense or third.
You will know if your driver’s license has been suspended when you receive a letter from the Department of Revenue, explaining the revocation.
Can I Get My Driver’s License Back If I Have Been in a Cleveland Car Accident Without Insurance?
Getting your driver’s license back after having it suspended for failing to have car insurance can be a costly process. You will first need to pay the reinstatement fee. This ranges from $40 for a first offense upwards of $400 for a third offense.
At this time, you will need to show that you have garnered the proper insurance coverage and file proof with the Department of Revenue in Ohio. If you were involved in a Cleveland car accident without insurance, you will also need to get an SR-22 filed. This is provided by your insurance company and shows proof that you have an insurance policy with them to protect you in the case of another car accident and make you compliant with the laws of the state.
What If I Can’t Pay for Damages Without Insurance After a Cleveland Car Accident?
When you are involved in a car accident that is your fault and do not have insurance to pay for the damages to the other driver’s vehicle, it is your personal responsibility to cover the costs. This doesn’t mean that you shouldn’t carry car insurance if you intend to pay for all crash damages out-of-pocket, as you can still have your license revoked without proper coverage.
If you don’t or are unable to pay for any damages that occurred in a collision that has been determined to be your fault, you could also face losing your driver’s license as well as you license plates for a full year. Only when you have settled the costs incurred from the crash and have proof that they have been paid, will the Driver License Bureau reinstate your driver’s license.
If I Don’t Live in Ohio, am I Required to Have Car Insurance for a Cleveland Car Accident?
When you are living in another state but driving through Ohio, you don’t need to have the same levels of car insurance that are required locally. The state allows you to adhere to the requirements of the state you live in, even if you get in a Cleveland car accident.
Consult with an Experienced Cleveland Car Accident Attorney
If you have been involved in a collision, where an uninsured motorist is involved, whether it be yourself or another driver, you need the help of a lawyer from the Ohio Car Accident Lawyers. We can help you understand the law as it relates to insurance requirements and help you get your license back.