An Ohio law signed into law by Governor John Kasich in 2012 prohibits using an electronic device while driving for both minors and adults. While obeying the law should be a good enough reason to abstain from texting while driving, the safety concerns of such activities provides a better incentive. If you were injured or lost a loved one in a car accident with a distracted driver, contact a Cleveland car accident attorney today.
The Dangers of Texting While Driving
According to the Virginia Tech Transportation Institute, drivers are 23 times more likely to get into a car accident if they are texting. Texting while driving can take your eyes off the road for around five seconds, which is long enough to be distracted for 100 yards travelling at 55 miles per hour. In this timespan all sorts of tragedies can take place, especially on the highway where vehicles are travelling at higher speeds.
When considering an AT&T poll that showed that 50 percent of teens admitted to texting while driving, the road can appear to be a dangerous place, filled with distracted drivers. While you cannot change other drivers actions, you still can do your part to mitigate distracted driving by avoiding using electronic devices.
The Details of Ohio’s Texting While Driving Laws
Under the law, it is illegal to use an electronic communications device while driving for the purposes of writing, reading or sending a text at any age. Adult drivers can still use hands free voice operated or hands-free devices to make phone calls. 18 and over drivers can also use their mobile phones to make phone calls, but only in emergency situations and use gps navigation devices.
Minors behind the wheel have extra restrictions. They are banned from the use of any GPS or hands-free devices and are unequivocally not allowed to use their electronic devices in any situation. This includes when they are stuck in traffic or stopped at a red light. Breaking this law is considered a primary offense for minors, which means law enforcement officers have the right to stop you for any of the above violations.
The fine for noncompliance with the law is a misdemeanor charge and a $150 for adult drivers. Drivers under the age of 18 will receive a $150 fine and a license suspension for 60 days for a first offence. For their second offence and all subsequent offenses, they will receive a $300 fine and a one year license suspension.
Contact a Cleveland Car Accident Attorney Today
If you were injured or lost a loved one in a car accident in Cleveland or Cuyahoga County, the Ohio Car Accident Lawyers is here to help you get through it. We encourage you to contact us today for a free consultation after you are involved in an accident with a distracted driver – we will do all that we can to protect your rights during the process of filing a claim.