Most drivers do not think of the penalties that come with negligent driving, especially when they first receive their driver’s license. According to reports from the National Motorists Association, Ohio is on the states’ list with the most traffic violations. One in every six drivers receives a speeding ticket daily.
The Bureau of Motor Vehicles keeps records of all licensed drivers in Ohio. The record-keeping done by the Bureau is to keep track of driving offenses of all licensed drivers.
A point-based system tracks and records drivers’ violations based on severity. Every moving violation has specific points, and the more severe the offense, the more points the driver gets.
The Ohio Point Systems
The point system in Ohio tracks individual driver’s traffic violations. Every traffic offense has a specific number of points it attracts. However, over two years, a cumulative point of 12 leads to your driver’s license suspension for six months. The suspension excludes any other fines you might pay or the cost of repairs for your vehicle.
After the 6-month suspension, you will take a full-day course at the BMV. You have to retest to have your driver’s license back ultimately. The Bureau of Motor Vehicle (BMV) penalties apply to commercial drivers and motorists operating their vehicles. A license suspension often leads to a job loss for commercial drivers.
Below is a list of the point value for traffic violations.
The offenses under this head are:
- Street racing or drag racing
- Operating a vehicle without the owner’s consent
- DUI driving
- Using a car to commit a felony
- Driving with an invalid, revoked, or suspended driver’s license
- Fleeing from a law enforcement officer
- Vehicular homicide, assault, or manslaughter
- Not stopping at the scene of an accident
- Hit and run driving
- Driving with wanton disregard for the safety of others or properties
- Operating a vehicle while below 21 years of age and intoxicated
- Driving 30 mph over the speed limit
- Speeding while driving a commercial vehicle
They consist of:
- Disregarding the traffic light
- Railroad crossing
- Driving without carrying your driver’s license on you
- Hit-skip on private property
- Driving too slowly
- Prohibited U-turn
- Operating across a yellow line
- Driving left of canter
- Interfering or disobeying an officer’s order
- Dropping items on unsecured roads or highways
- Failure to yield to the disabled or pedestrian
- Failure to yield right of way to a vehicle
- Driving with a temporary permit without an adult present
- Not making use of child restraint
- Improper turn
- Driving or operating a car without being in control of the motor vehicle
How Long Do Points Stay on Your Driver’s License in Ohio?
In Ohio, driving penalties are severe; you must try not to commit any traffic offenses. Try to keep your traffic violations to the barest minimum if you do.
Unfortunately, points remain on your driving record indefinitely. However, they count for two years only. That is to say that points stacked against a driver from traffic violations are valid for two years from the date of infraction.
Any driver with less than 12 points but with a minimum of two points can enroll in a remedial driving course. Upon completion, the driver can apply for a two-point credit. The two-point credit does not apply if a Judge mandated the remedial class.
The BMV issues warning letters to drivers with 6-points on their licenses over two years. A 12-point accumulation over a particular two-year period leads to the driver’s license suspension.
If you get caught driving after a suspension, you will face a fine as high as $1,000, and you get a 6-month jail term. The BMV can also decide to suspend you further for another year.
Can I Get Points Removed From My Driver’s License?
The simple answer is yes. However, it would be wise to try not to accumulate points on your license as that is easier than having them removed.
To have points removed from your driver’s license, you have to take the remedial course. Each remedial course can get two-points removed from your license. Nevertheless, you can only take the lesson five times in your lifetime. It happens once every three years.
It Would Be Best if You Hired an Experienced Ohio Car Accident Attorney
Most persons do not want to contest when they’re accused of a traffic offense, even when they’re innocent. They rather pay than go through the perceived hassle of challenging such violations. Unfortunately, the more points you have on your driver’s license, the higher your insurance. It would help if you had an experienced Ohio attorney for the best advice and representation.